Exploring the Edge of the World

photo credit: Nibiru via photopin (license)
photo credit: Nibiru via photopin (license)

Those that follow my other blog Made of Sticks and Stones will most likely know that 2015 was a year of renewal and change for me. So much so, that I have had to find myself something new to do to keep the wolf from the door – strange phrase, personally having a wolf sitting at the door sounds brilliant, but I digress. In fact I’ve found myself in need of several “something new’s” as I embark on fresh ventures and set sail to new horizons.
Of course some of these projects are creative in nature and one of them relates to a story of mine set in a fictional world. Due to how long this story has been in gestation the notes and other paraphernalia associated with it had become separated in different notebooks, on the back of receipts, spreadsheets, written in arcane runic script etc. I also think I might have forgotten a whole continent because I scrubbed away those scribbled notes from the back of my hand.

 

photo credit: WORLD OF WARCRAFTS & DIABLO III ARTS via photopin (license)
photo credit: WORLD OF WARCRAFTS & DIABLO III ARTS via photopin (license)

While the wolf was quite content sitting at the back door, the mythical creature had taken to sitting on the roof with his mates. This was causing terrible damage to the brickwork and an increase in the insurance premium.  

The scribe was also convinced the beast was sneaking in in the middle of the night and hiding his notes and story ideas!

One of the things I’ve had to do is bring all the maps together to get an overview of the landscape the story exists within. A map in a book, to me, somehow makes a story more real. Of course I’ve needed to make some compromises, names have changed, as has geography as rivers change course to create natural barriers between different races and will perhaps change again at the insistence of some uppity characters’ whims as they fit the story around themselves.
It has very much seemed like an old year turning into new task for me, setting out a route map of where I am going and is far better than therapy or adult colouring books. Get yourself some pencils and a fantasy world, nothing beats it.

And the coastline just looks like the dog from a monopoly set.
And the coastline just looks like the dog from a monopoly set.

© 2016 | Frank Regan, All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

